Kryptis vs the other photo vault apps.
Kryptis encrypts media and metadata with AES-256-GCM, which also detects tampering. Compare that design, backups and recovery with the published details from ten photo vault developers. AES-256 alone names the cipher and key size; it does not identify the encryption mode.
- 16
- features checked
- 10
- apps, from their own listings
- 3
- features not found in other sources
Compare by app.
Private Photo VaultBreak-in reports and a decoy passwordPrivate Photo Vault has been on the App Store since 2011 and leads with a decoy password, break-in reports and a private browser.8not documented
KeepsafePrivate cloud, PIN, album locksKeepsafe combines a PIN lock, private cloud backup and album locks.10not documented
PrivaultThree passcodes, a media player, no cloudPrivault keeps photos, videos and audio behind a keypad, with a secondary passcode for a decoy folder and an erase-all passcode for emergencies.12not documented
SPVPIN, passwords, contacts and a browserSPV locks photos, videos, passwords, contacts and a private browser behind a PIN, and says it keeps nothing on any server.13not documented
Secret Photo AlbumDecoy PIN, break-in alerts, cloudSecret Photo Album offers a decoy PIN, break-in alerts with intruder photos, a private browser with an ad blocker and unlimited cloud storage on Premium.11not documented
PVFake password, custom icon, cloud tiersPV locks photos and videos behind a passcode or Face ID, with a fake password, a custom app icon, an emergency switch and cloud sync on paid memberships.8not documented
Calculator#A vault behind a working calculatorCalculator# hides a vault behind a working calculator, and bundles notes, passwords, contacts and a browser into the same app.9not documented
Hide it ProCrash disguise and an escape codeHide it Pro hides photos and videos behind a lock screen, can disguise itself as a crashed app, and sells cloud storage and a password reset as in-app purchases.11not documented
Safe LockMany lock types, no data collectedSafe Lock offers PIN, dot, numeric and alphabetic locks plus Face ID, a fake password that opens a fake gallery, break-in reports and a hidden camera, with photos kept only on the device.8not documented
LockerFace ID and a calculator iconLocker keeps photos, videos, notes and files behind Face ID or a PIN, with a calculator or timer icon to hide the app itself.14not documented
Every feature, every app.
| Checked September 6, 2026 | Kryptis | Private Photo Vault | Keepsafe | Privault | SPV | Secret Photo Album | PV | Calculator# | Hide it Pro | Safe Lock | Locker |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Encryption and privacy | |||||||||||
| AES-256-GCM documented | Yes. AES-256-GCM on the device, with tamper detection for media and metadata | In part. AES-256; mode not specified in the reviewed FAQ | In part. AES-256 on device and in private backup; mode not specified in the reviewed product page | In part. "Encrypted storage", algorithm not named | Not documented in the reviewed sources. No encryption wording in the listing | In part. "Encrypted, PIN-protected storage", algorithm not named | In part. "Data encryption", algorithm not named | Not documented in the reviewed sources. No encryption wording in the listing | Not documented in the reviewed sources. "Impenetrable lock screen"; no encryption wording | In part. "Internal encryption", algorithm not named | Not documented in the reviewed sources. No encryption wording in the listing |
| Works without an account | Yes. No sign-up for the local vault | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | In part. Nothing on any server; sign-up not stated | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Email registered for cloud and sync | In part. Recovery email optional; cloud needs a membership | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | In part. Saved only on your device; sign-up not stated | In part. Files are never stored on their servers; sign-up not stated |
| Lock and deniability | |||||||||||
| Decoy vault behind a second passcode | Yes. A separate vault with its own albums | Yes. Decoy Password | Yes. Fake PIN, Premium (Google Play listing) | Yes. Secondary passcode opens a secondary folder | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Decoy PIN | Yes. Fake password | In part. Fake crash message, not a second vault | In part. Escape code makes the app look empty | Yes. Fake password opens a fake gallery | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Self-destruct passcode | Yes. A third passcode erases the vault | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Erase-all passcode | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Locks after three wrong PINs | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Panic Switch hides, it does not erase | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Intruder alerts | Yes. Failed unlocks are recorded | Yes. Photo and GPS | Yes. Track break-in attempts, Premium | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Alerts with intruders' photos | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Hack Monitor | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Break-in reports with photos | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Facedown lock | Yes. Locks and shows an app you choose | Yes. | Yes. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Emergency Switch jumps to another app | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Flip or shake to lock | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Disguised app icon | Yes. Calculator, Calendar, Clock and more | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Sold as a separate Calculator Vault app | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | In part. "Hidden Calculator" in the subtitle, not described | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Customise the app icon | Yes. The app is a calculator | In part. Disguise screen shows a crash | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Calculator or timer icon |
| Capture and import | |||||||||||
| Private camera | Yes. Photos and video straight into the vault | Yes. | Yes. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. | Yes. Hidden camera with zoom | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Face blur while shooting | Yes. Built into the camera | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Download from a link | Yes. Public photos, videos and streams | Yes. Private browser downloads photos | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Private browser; downloads not mentioned | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Private browser; downloads not mentioned | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Built-in browser to download files | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Transfer from a computer | Yes. Local Wi-Fi, nothing through a server | Yes. Wireless Photo Transfer | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Embedded Wi-Fi server | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Wi-Fi Transfer on Pro, Nearby Drop | Yes. Wi-Fi transfer from PC or Mac | In part. Import from iTunes, USB export | Yes. Wi-Fi transfer | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Backup and recovery | |||||||||||
| Encrypted backup in your own iCloud | Yes. Encrypted before it leaves the phone | In part. Cloud Vault on the developer's cloud | In part. Private Cloud on Keepsafe's servers | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | In part. Cloud storage on the developer's servers, Premium | In part. Cloud Sync for Super members; third-party cloud for Pro | In part. Four cloud providers; encryption not stated | In part. Cloud storage subscription; encryption not stated | In part. Export to Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, Box; encryption not stated | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Recovery key you hold | Yes. BIP39 recovery phrase, no company copy | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | In part. Recovery email | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. Password Reset sold for $4.99 | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| More inside | |||||||||||
| Burner email | Yes. Addresses that expire after 24 hours | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Private contacts | Yes. Encrypted, separate from the address book | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Stores contact information | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Yes. Contacts manager | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
| Sub-albums | Yes. Albums inside albums | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. | Not documented in the reviewed sources. |
Lock and deniability
Capture and import

Kryptis first, then apps with relevant published details. Dimmed means the documentation describes a different or incomplete match. For encryption, AES-256 alone does not identify the mode. Tap an icon for the full comparison.
Read further.

Kryptis is on its way to the App Store.
Published by Tuvo Labs, the maker of Kryptis. This comparison describes public documentation, not an independent security audit. Listings were checked September 6, 2026; later checks are noted below. A check means the feature is documented, a phrase gives the documented details, and an X means it was not found in the reviewed sources. An X does not prove that a feature is absent. Kryptis is coming soon. App names, icons and marks belong to their owners.
Private Photo Vault sources: App Store listing, Developer security FAQ (listed as "Private Photo Vault - Pic Safe"). Encryption documentation rechecked September 26, 2026. Other fields retain the September 6 listing snapshot.
Keepsafe sources: App Store listing, Developer product and encryption details, Google Play listing (listed as "Secret Photo Vault: Keepsafe"). Encryption documentation rechecked September 26, 2026. Other fields retain the September 6 listing snapshot.
Privault sources: App Store listing (listed as "Privault - Private Photo Vault").
SPV sources: App Store listing (listed as "SPV - Secret Photo Vault").
Secret Photo Album sources: App Store listing (listed as "Secret Photo Album - SA").
PV sources: App Store listing (listed as "PV - Secret Photo Album").
Calculator# sources: App Store listing (listed as "Calculator# Hide Photos Videos").
Hide it Pro sources: App Store listing (listed as "Hide Photos Video -Hide it Pro").
Safe Lock sources: App Store listing (listed as "Safe Lock - Hidden Photo Vault").
Locker sources: App Store listing (listed as "Unlock - App & Photo Locker (formerly Locker - Hidden Photo Vault)").